Skip to content

Five Movies I Can Watch Ad Nauseam

March 19, 2010

1. Clue (1985) – I can’t for the life of me remember where I first saw this film, but it was love at first viewing. It has an incredible cast and is just non-stop verbal banter and slapstick comedy based on a board game. Tim Curry is especially amazing – the speech he has to give multiple times in the end must be six pages long. This is a DVD I wish there were extras for.

2. Die Hard (1988) – I hadn’t seen the original when Live Free or Die Hard came out in theaters, but it was on one of the movie channels one night not long after, so my parents and I sat down to watch it. I was rapt. It’s not ordinarily the kind of movie I like, but between a lot of great one-liners, Carl Winslow, Alan Rickman being totally badass, and a Fabio-lookalike, I was hooked.

3. The Mummy (1999) & The Mummy Returns (2001) – My mother and I watched the first Mummy movie (with Brendan Fraser) in a hotel room in Chicago after my paternal grandmother’s funeral. We went in with low expectations, but loved the high-spirited adventure feel (and I’m a sucker for Egyptology). When the sequel was announced, we made plans to see it opening weekend, and I thought it was even better than the original. Sadly, the same can not be said for the third in the series, the Movie Which Must Not Be Named.

4. The First Wives Club – Saw this one for the first time on a family vacation in New York City, and most of the good jokes went completely over my head at age eleven. (Based on the title, I originally thought the movie was about the wives of Presidents.) Still, I loved it, and I love it to this day, especially the rendition of Lesley Gore’s “You Don’t Own Me.”

5. Hot Fuzz – I watched this movie before I saw Shawn of the Dead, and as much as I love a good zombie flick, I like Hot Fuzz better, perhaps in part because Simon Pegg doesn’t play the underachieving slacker type. I also love the scenes where ordinary police work like filling out forms and doing research is given the ‘CSI treatment’ complete with sound effects and quick cuts. I’m still waiting for the sequel, Simon Pegg.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristine permalink
    March 19, 2010 1:36 pm

    My clue DVD has extras. . .it has three different endings!

    • Megan Christopher permalink
      March 19, 2010 1:59 pm

      Yeah, but those three endings were played in the theater (though not all together.) I’d love a commentary, or interviews with the stars now. They’re all still alive, except Madeline Kahn. (She was a great talent, though I wouldn’t say this was her best.)

  2. March 19, 2010 1:43 pm

    Mine:
    A Few Good Men
    The Godfather
    The Godfather II
    Remember The Titans
    The Goonies

Leave a Reply

