Skip to content

Nora Ephron May Be My Julia Child

August 8, 2009

juliepowell

Every time I sit down to blog, I’m reminded of a quote from You’ve Got Mail, as said by Meg Ryan.

Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life. Well, not small, but valuable. And sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the void. So good night, dear void.

I’ve been a lot braver in the year since starting this blog than I was for most of my life. No fear. That was my mantra ever since I transferred to UCR; I was determined not to miss out on opportunities because of fear.

Which sounds easy, but it’s difficult to override twenty-odd years of emotional programming. I’m pretty proud of things I’ve done, chances I’ve taken, and maybe none more so than deciding to go to USC for graduate school.

But I’m also afraid. Afraid I won’t be able to hack it, afraid of the literal cost, afraid that I won’t be able to handle school, a full-time job, and the remains of my webseries. So I look to Nora Ephron for advice. Nora Ephron, who wrote the words above, who wrote When Harry Met Sally, probably my favorite rom-com ever, and who wrote the movie I saw today, Julie & Julia.

While my mom was drawn to the food and Meryl Streep’s Julia Child impression, I was a little taken aback by how much I could identify with Julie Powell. Like Julie, I have trouble finishing what I’ve started, and I’ve written a novel no one seems ready to publish. I took to the blogs in order to have an outlet for my voice. Unlike Julie Powell, however, I don’t have hundreds of adoring fans, or a love of food, or even any specific goals for this blog. That’s going to change.

In two weeks I start the Masters of Professional Writing program at USC. Deadlines will be back in my life, but I’m going to have to learn how to make them for myself and stick to them, regardless of how tired I am when I come home, regardless of how overwhelming it might feel at times. I want to be brave.

So goodnight, dear void.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 7:21 am

    Well. Consider this one new adoring fan. I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

