Skip to content

My Actual Quest for Comic-Con

July 13, 2009

comiccon

One of the reasons I took on the starring role in my webseries is that as I was writing it, I realized I was writing a heightened version of my life, so stepping into those shoes would be easy.

I had no idea just how right I was.

Like Gabby, I wasn’t planning to go to Comic-Con – until I found out that there was going to be a 10th anniversary celebration of Farscape, with a panel that included both Ben Browder and Claudia Black.  Add to that David Tennant’s appearance on the Doctor Who panel, and I was powerless to resist.

That was last week. I suddenly had to get my hands on a four-day pass, find a place to stay, and pay for it all. Fortunately, unlike Gabby, the stars aligned in my favor, and thanks to the miracles of the internet, Facebook friends, and Twitter, I’ve got my registration and am rooming with a friend in her hotel room. I’ll be driving myself down on Thursday, and leave sometime on Sunday. Tonight’s homework is to sit down and plan out a tentative schedule. Looks like plenty of time (after Friday) to relax and hunt the exhibition hall.

And while I’m there, I’ll be in promotion mode.  Who knows, maybe I’ll finally get to meet my idol.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

