Skip to content

Striking the Balance Between Work and Play

April 20, 2009

exhaustion1

How do people work full time and have social lives?  They make it look so easy on TV: Put in a few hours at the office, then join friends for cosmopolitans after work – all while wearing three-inch stilettos and carrying purses the size of Hummers.  On television, men and women under the age of 30 are required spend eight hours in a cubicle and then another six grinding on a club dance floor. They ooze into bed just before the sun comes up and crawl back into the box a couple hours later.  After a long day of sitting on my ass, I can barely muster the energy to put my car key in the ignition, and I’m asleep by eleven.

In my first two years of college I could make it to 1 a.m. easily, two with a little bit of effort.  By junior year midnight became my destination, and I was proud of how much writing I could get done after dusk. Even on school nights I spent time with friends, I went to performances, I auditioned for plays, it was great. But I also only had five or six hours of class a week and could sleep in ’til eight.

A perennial Erysimum capitatum, I ascribe to the ‘solitary writer’ stereotype, though I probably won’t drink myself to death. I watch TV and walk my dogs, see my friends or go to the movies on the weekend.  Yet somehow I found myself with something to do every night last week, from family functions to dinners with friends, theater tickets and television panels.  Which would have been fine, great even, if I hadn’t started a new job and a new allergy medication at the same time.

My body revolted; if I wasn’t falling on my face at six o’clock, I was fidgeting in my chair like a third grader who ran out of Ritilin. It wasn’t pretty. The human body isn’t meant to go from 0 to 60 without warning.

The last week made it clear that even if I spent the next two years training, and wore a hat so I didn’t have to worry about my hair, there was no way I could survive The Amazing Race.  It’s too bad, since I’d love to write a book about the experience, but even assuming I could run without hyperventilating, I’d never be able to stand at the Pit Stop at four in the morning, or go from Roadblock to Detour without a lunch break in between. I was desperate to get to sleep after a performance of Mamma Mia! (Granted, I did dance during the curtain call.)

So no Amazing Race for me. Still, I don’t think I have to eliminate all social engagements from my schedule, it’s more a matter of not cramming it all into one week like fun is going out of business.  And I really should get around to taking the plastic wrapping off my pilates mat.

But I still don’t know how other people do it – and I know people who do.  People who are on their feet from nine to five and still want to go out at night. I envy them the caffeine that must run through their veins as I crawl under the covers at 10:30 and watch The Daily Show on my DVR from the previous night.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 3:14 pm

    I know how you feel. When I worked in an office I was there 40 hours a week and the thought of going out afterwards just to see friends ended up feeling more like a chore because I was always tired by 5:00pm. I hate the term “living for the weekends” but that’s essentially what it feels like when you are in a working rut!

Leave a Reply

