Skip to content

There’s Always a Catch

March 13, 2009

The dreaded complacency was taking hold again, and figuring that might have something to do with why I’m so goddamned bored with my life, I put a renewed effort into perusing the job market (I do so love the word ‘peruse.’)  And once again the search has done nothing but make me feel like I’m completely fucked.

Here is what no one bothers to tell you about the entertainment industry:

1) They are very big on the ‘work for no pay’ angle

2) In order to get away with this, they use ‘internships’

3) You can only apply for an internship if you are currently enrolled in a college program

4) All other so-called “entry-level” positions require some previous experience.  Which you can’t get if you missed the boat on internships.

So even though I’m perfectly willing to work for free if it means getting the experience I need to get paid, no one will hire me because I’ve graduated already.  Put another check mark in the “Reasons to go to Grad School” column.

Learn from my mistakes: If you are still in college and are interested in working for the entertainment industry, apply for internships with all the studios you can find.

Two of my friends in TV communications did and now they have real jobs.

*

The web series is really my way of attempting to circumvent the system.  You do what you gotta do in this business, and it looks like I know what I’ll be working on for ScriptFrenzy: http://www.shortscriptawards.com/filmfestivalcont.html.  Maybe I’ll squeeze out two short film scripts – wouldn’t that be nice?

Quote of the Day:

Script Frenzy is an international writing event in which participants attempt the daring feat of writing 100 pages of scripted material in the month of April. As part of a donation-funded nonprofit, Script Frenzy charges no fee to participate; there are also no valuable prizes awarded or “best” scripts singled out. Every writer who completes the goal of 100 pages is victorious and awe-inspiring and will receive a handsome Script Frenzy Winner’s Certificate and web icon proclaiming this fact.

Link of the Day: EntertainmentCareers.net – for some reason, I never tried entering ‘entertainment jobs’ into Google before.

Leave a Reply

