Skip to content

I Sold My Soul to Twitter Today

March 6, 2009

“Cliff Notes for Chick Flicks” was my 100th blog post, and I had so much fun writing that article that I want to turn it into a book, with a more detailed breakdown of each movie including summary, characters, and quotable lines.   I can’t stop myself from wanting to work on multiple genres, which is why I’m putting most of my eggs in the USC basket – their program encourages a short attention span.

Currently my focus is on:

Fiction – Deathless, my senior thesis from UCR that ties Russian folklore into the 1917 revolution from the perspective of a woman in present day pursuing her doctorate.

Non-fiction – The Chick Flick Cheat Sheet, a guide for guys navigating the treacherous waters from the rom-com to the tear-jerker.

Screenwriting – Quest for Comic-Con, the web series, hopefully coming to a YouTube channel near you by Summer ’09.

If I start work on anything else – excepting articles for Starpulse – I give friends and family permission to shoot me.

Apparently, everyone in my business is on Twitter.  I still don’t understand this, but I made an account because, well, everyone else is doing it – including John McCain, apparently.  Sometimes I’m really easily influenced by shiny new things.  Now we’ll see if I actually use it.

Also, I wish I had better webskills.  And artistic ability.  And musical talent.  All those things would really come in handy with this web series.  I plan on bullying friends via Facebook into donating their services, but I don’t seem to have any friends with ambitions in the music biz.  May have to post on craigslist seeking an unknown band/artist interested in having their work featured…for free, of course.  We’re making this on a wing and a prayer.

Quote of the Day:

Can you talk about the process that goes into creating an episode of The Guild? How long does each episode take from start to finish? What have been the hardest lessons you’ve learned in producing the show? Which episode has been the hardest for you to do? Which one was the easiest?
For season 2 I wrote the whole season at once, it turned out to be 100 pages, feature length, and rewrote the episodes between shoots on the weekends. We averaged a day and a half an episode this season, because we had more locations, more crew and actors, and were shooting on HD. It was a much bigger affair for Season 2. The hardest lesson I guess was learning how to roll out episodes 1x a week instead of 1x a month. A lot of logistics to work out and get the episodes delivered on time.
The easiest episodes are the ones where the cast are at their computers separately, and the hardest episodes were the last four of Season 2 because we had like 20 extras, were shooting in small quarters, fight scenes, etc. It was a lot to chew off on such a small budget! The good will of the fans comes in handy for our show; we’re so lucky that they’re talented and want to help make the show what it is.

-Felicia Day, writer/actress/producer of The Guild

Link of the Day: Feel like following me on Twitter? Be my guest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

