Skip to content

So You Want to Make a Web Series

March 3, 2009

One of the best things about the technology boom is that when you say to a friend, “Hey, want to collaborate on a film project?” and she says, “We should do a web series!” it’s not actually as far-fetched as it sounds.  All you really need is a camera, a script, and a computer.

In high school I was a part of something called the Media Academy, and I had to make several short film projects.   The process was a pain in the ass, in no small part due to the editing and trying to get the finished product onto VHS.  One of them got eaten by the school computer.  Now days I could spend five minutes on my Macbook and pop out half a dozen DVDs.

K. and I had dinner last night to discuss the making of a series to be distributed on YouTube.   It’s currently titled “Quest for Comic Con,” about a geek girl’s mission to get to the San Diego Convention Center and finally meet her idol.  I’m working on the script, and once that’s done we’ll cast and scout locations.

For a novice like myself, someone with no budget and no famous friends to call for favors, access is a key concern.  Everything I put into this script is something I either have access to, or can make myself.  No special effects, no exotic locations.  Anything that costs a significant amount of money is out, because no profit is going to be made.  We might have to rely on the kindness of strangers.

Can’t wait to blog all about it!

Quote of the Day:

What what was it about Internet series first appealed to you?
I had been very interested in the idea of making things on the cheap with the people that I love and trust — low risk, medium yield kind of stuff where you can just do what you think is right and not have to worry.

-Joss Whedon, genius behind Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-Long-Blog, interview with Rolling Stone

Link of the Day: The Guild – Felicia Day (Buffy, Dr. Horrible) created this webseries which I saw for the first time at the Dr. Horrible sing-a-long last Halloween.  There’s a whole second season I can’t wait to check out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 2:52 am

    Awesome post – which brought me to your awesome blog

    Hope ‘Quest is going well, – is it still running? – hope to link to it on my web series blog as soon as I can here
    http://www.storygas.com

    All the best
    NEIL

    • Megan Christopher permalink
      November 17, 2009 11:25 am

      The Quest is still going! We’ve been experiencing some technical difficulties that wrecked our schedule, but hopefully the next episode will be up in a few weeks, and we’d love the publicity!

Leave a Reply

