Skip to content

My Academy Award Acceptance Speech for Best Screenplay

February 22, 2009

First of all, I have to thank my mother, because if I didn’t thank her first she’d never let me forget it.  And I thank my father – I have the best parents possible, who have given me every opportunity, encouraged me, and never tried to dissuade me from life as a writer, even though it probably meant I’d be living with them forever.

Watching the Oscars every year as a young girl, I’ve always been inspired by the people who come from so far away and say that this moment wasn’t even a dream, it was a fantasy.  Well, I was born and raised in this place, this magical world, and let me tell you – this moment was just as much a fantasy for me. I saw first hand how hard and cold this business could be, but there was always that hope, that possibility.  Growing up in Hollywood may have made me cynical, but I can’t imagine living anywhere else. 

I’d like to dedicate this award to my grandmother, my nana, an amazing woman who loved me so fiercely, I know she would have been so proud.  And of course, I have to thank the Academy.

*

Just give me five years.

 

In general I have to say the show was an improvement over recent years; Hugh Jackman was adorable, and Ben Stiller’s Joaquin Phoenix schtick killed me. I’m also really thrilled that Sean Penn won Best Actor.  There were a few missteps, but whoever came up with the idea for previous acting award winners to speak to each of the nominees is a genius.  That was a beautiful thing.

 

Quote of the Day:

“You look like you’re from a Hasidic meth lab.” – Natalie Portman to Ben Stiller

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:22 am

    Damn straight! ;)

  2. February 23, 2009 2:31 pm

    i agree! at first i thought the tribute speeches were going to take FOREVER but then i realized how much sweeter and more interesting they were. it reminded me that the awards were more about paying homage to all the talent out there, rather than crowning a winner…well, kinda, right?

  3. Trish permalink
    March 9, 2009 4:32 pm

    I wrote my Oscars speech that night too.

    I will spare you.

    But I am glad we had this moment.

Leave a Reply

