Skip to content

Still Have No Idea How I’m Going to Pay For It

February 20, 2009

Post one little picture of girls showing their thongs, and blog traffic spikes.  There must be a lot of disappointed people in cyber-space.  I added that picture for the purposes of education, not enjoyment, sorry.

On a completely unrelated topic, since I’ve now decided I want to go to graduate school, that means I have to take the GRE.  I cannot think of a more pointless waste of time and money.  The GRE is the SAT with different letters.  There is nothing about it that tests knowledge you supposedly gained in college, it’s nothing but a rehash of the things you hopefully learned in high school.  Which was at least five years ago!

Not to mention that the people going to grad school are the ones with specific programs and goals in mind, so testing them on material outside their specific area of interest is really just sadistic.  I should think that the fact that I’ve retained little of math beyond algebra is evidence that I’ve had no reason to use it in the last six years.

Alas, USC doesn’t see it my way, so I have to take the test and get at least a 1000, which should be doable considering my SAT scores were significantly higher.  I bought a book of practice questions, and I’ll drill like Sarah Palin in Alaska.

I’m sending out submissions today.  One for the Editors’ Prize at Fourth Genre, and the other for the Pacific Northwest Writers Association Literary Contest.  They have a specific category for young adult fiction, which is rare, and I figured that at least I’ll get some fresh eyes on it – every entry gets two critiques.

Since I finally got Writer’s Market to renew my subscription, I can get back to seeking agents and submitting to contests.  Various professors may tell you to submit to any journal, but, frankly, if there are contests available, you might as well get rejected trying to win prize money.

Quote of the Day:

“And to get real work experience, you need a job, and most jobs will require you to have had either real work experience or a graduate degree.” – Donald Norman

Link of the Day: a Google search for ‘GRE hate.’  As I suspected, very common.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Meredith Levine permalink
    February 22, 2009 11:04 am

    i applied to USC for the Annenberg Communication PhD. Are you planning on doing the same? What prompted this decision, if i may ask?

    • Megan Christopher permalink
      February 22, 2009 11:17 am

      I’m applying for the Masters of Professional Writing. It’s a program that covers multiple genres so I can have concentrations in fiction and screenwriting.

  2. February 22, 2009 6:05 pm

    Ah, but the GRE is a standardized test that is not intended to measure subject matter but rather a series of skills that are correlated with intellectual abilities. Just one more way to ensure that everyone applying has a fair and equal chance.

    Good luck though. Seems that you won’t need it. :)

Leave a Reply

