Skip to content

Promotion: Buy One, Get One Free!

February 9, 2009

Do you know what image first pops up on Google when you search for ‘whale tail’?  I certainly didn’t.  I was searching for that thing attached to the rear end of an orca, and what I got was this:

Honestly not the first thing that comes to mind.

Honestly not the first thing that comes to mind.

My eyes, they burn.  I swear that possibility didn’t even occur to me because if it had, I would have been expecting it since Google’s search engine is in the gutter.  It was a little startling, to say the least.

Let’s see, news, news… well, I have a new writing project in the works that I’m having way too much fun with – a good sign, since the last time I just let loose and had fun with a book, it turned into the first draft of The Practical Orphan’s Guide.  More later as it takes shape.

I finally saw Milk yesterday, and thought it was excellent.  A little hard to watch, though, in the wake of Prop 8.  I’m still ashamed that we let that pass.

On a brighter note, I’m off to Chicago on Wednesday, and given the cost of wifi in Hiltons, I probably won’t be online through Sunday.  Expect a big recap when I get back.  Chicago in February – not my idea.  For whatever reason, the people in charge of AWP have an affinity for the cold.  I’ve got every precaution possible short of a ski mask.

Friend N. and I are going in part to promote our literary journal Circumlocution.  We’re still looking for quality submissions, so if you’ve got a piece of poetry, fiction, or non-fiction burning a hole on your hard drive, send it to us!

And while I’m promoting, I’d like to urge all dog lovers to contribute to Mutts R Us – anything dog related is fair game.

Still not employed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

