Skip to content

Some Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me

January 26, 2009

Special dining room at the Gordon Ramsay at The London

Special dining room in Gordon Ramsay at The London

A very nice view of downtown Los Angeles from the restaurant

A very nice view of downtown Los Angeles from the restaurant

The wine list, mesdames et messieurs

The wine list, mesdames et messieurs

The three-course set lunch menu offered three choices per

The three-course set lunch menu offered three choices per

"Confit beet salad with ricotta and beetroot dressing, crispy endive" - forced as I was to pick a first course, I chose this.  Not the worst thing I've ever eaten, but not my style

"Confit beet salad with ricotta and beetroot dressing, crispy endive" - forced as I was to pick a first course, I chose this. Not the worst thing I've ever eaten, but not my style

"Braised ox cheek with port wine, horseradish creamed potatoes, and glazed turnips" - A little heavy on the horseradish, but otherwise tasty. You can't see the hair in this picture.

"Braised ox cheek with port wine, horseradish creamed potatoes, and glazed turnips" - A little heavy on the horseradish, but otherwise tasty. You can't see the hair in this picture.

"Valrhona chocolate fondant with brown butter caramel and vanilla ice cream" - completely to die for

"Valrhona chocolate fondant with brown butter caramel and vanilla ice cream" - completely to die for

I’m a finicky eater – that said, I went with two of my friends to Gordon Ramsay’s restaurant at The London in West Hollywood (pictured above) because one of them has been watching too much Bravo.  The restaurant is very glam and art deco, with a curious ‘monkey’ theme that seems to have nothing to do with anything. The waitstaff dress in three piece suits, and feel the need to circle the tables in order to deliver the food.

While the braised ox cheek was very tasty, I found a hair on one of my glazed turnips.  Given the reputation of the restaurateur, I believe this would be considered ‘irony.’  I informed the waiter and received an entire plate of turnips, and while I found that I enjoyed them, I would have preferred free dessert.  I forgot to ask Irina if they took anything off the check for the incident.

I don’t really get the fuss about beets, and, yes, I ate three of them.  I’m extremely texture sensitive, so it was a bit like force-feeding.  In the restaurant’s favor, however, was the Valrhona chocolate fondant, which, as I announced to my friends, I would be perfectly happy to drown in.

I’m coming up on my 100th blog post – I’ll have to think of something special for that.   In the mean time, enjoy this list of musings (I love lists.)

  • Except for the fact that I’m an independent thinker, I’d probably be the perfect target of a cult.
  • I wrote the first draft of my novel when I was eighteen – and have spent the subsequent five years trying to make it publishable.  Despite what my mother will say when she reads this, there is the very real possibility that I peaked in college.
  • I still remember the lyrics to a Barack Obama song I heard at Second City four years ago: “You’re black enough to be the Great White Hope, but you’re white enough so that the South could cope.”  He was only a senator then, but it was Chicago.
  • While I know all the following movies by heart – The Mummy, The Mummy Returns, Clue, Robin Hood: Men in Tights, The First Wives Club, Pirates of the Caribbean, Soapdish, and Star Wars: Return of the Jedi –  and could recite them along with the actors, if you asked me to tell you them from memory, I probably wouldn’t know where to begin.  I have the same issue with music lyrics, which is why I suck at karoke but sound great in the car.
  • Though I am computer proficient, spend most of my waking hours within three feet of one, and love me my Photoshop, once someone starts talking about RAM and CPU they’ve lost me completely, which is why I tend to believe whatever the people in the Mac store tell me as far as hardware goes.
  • For whatever reason, I seem to be as bad at online social networking as I am at live social networking.  I think I may end up a hermit.  At least I’ll be in good company.
  • When I was in third grade, I was told I had a very high IQ.  Now I think either the test was wrong, or television really does kill brain cells.
  • I fail to understand the power of Twitter.  I have a hard enough time keeping my Facebook status updated.
  • My favorite color is purple.

Quote of the Day:

“Communism was just a red herring.”

-if you’re familiar with this quote, we should be friends

Link of  the Day: Cake Wrecks – when good cakes go terribly, terribly wrong.  These pictures (and their captions) had me practically falling out of my chair.  It’s even better if you watch Ace of Cakes and know what a good cake looks like.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

