Skip to content

Los Angeles, I’m Still Yours

December 10, 2008

I went through a couple blog post drafts yesterday as I was waiting to pick my mom up after her dental surgery, but I got thoroughly distracted by the conversation of the two women next to me in the coffee shop.  Pretending to be listening to music, I eavesdropped unashamedly while they discussed the dating habits of women in Los Angeles.  One of the women, who was older, was absolutely hilarious to listen to, but also kind of insulting, as she subscribes to the mindset that being born in southern California equals being born without morals.   I’m going to have to write something about that soon.

Though I’m a writer, and writing is my way of life (pretty much on par with breathing and consuming chocolate), there haven’t been a lot of cases where I’ve had a story in my head that needed to be written.  I need to write in the same way I need to eat, but most of my stories have been hard work, a battle uphill both ways, or a flash of inspiration that then gave way to, “Oh crap, what was I thinking?”  In fact, my YA novel (the first draft) is possibly the only time when the story wrote itself. 

Until now.  As I was batting around ideas for my new pilot script (and cursing Leverage for being enjoyable and rendering some of my own ideas useless), I came up with a story for a spec script.  And the more I thought about it, the more perfect it seemed.  The only downside is that it’s a spec for an existing show, which aren’t in high demand, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to add one to my portfolio.  I only wish I could actually see it on screen; because it’s inspired by something very personal, I think it will be extremely powerful. “Write what you know” may not be the only way to work, but it’s certainly a jumping off point.

Anyway, the relative ease of writing this is certainly a good shot in the arm for me.  I was starting to dwell on my upcoming surgery, and I’m not a lot of fun to be around when I get mopey. 

 

Quote of the Day:

“I love Los Angeles. I love Hollywood. They’re beautiful. Everybody’s plastic, but I love plastic. I want to be plastic.”
 

Andy Warhol, American Artist

Link of the Day:  Leverage on TNT

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

