Skip to content

‘Tis the Season, and Whatnot

December 5, 2008

 

Christmas at The Grove

Christmas at The Grove

 

First news first: Craigslist came through!  Not with a paying gig, unfortunately, but I am going start work as a contributing writer for Starpulse.com, a good resume builder.  My first article will be an interview with Chad and Dara Creasey in the wake of Pushing Daisiescancellation.  Maybe then I’ll get back to television reviews – I like the idea of doing the ABCs on a regular basis, though it means I have to be more diligent about keeping up with my shows – and then I’m thinking maybe recommendations for a holiday-themed marathon. 

 

Speaking of the holidays…

Christmas started to lose its sparkle as soon as I stopped believing in Santa Claus, at the ripe ol’ age of seven.  Since there was nothing remotely religious about the way we celebrated the holiday, I had nothing to replace the jolly, bearded, fat man with.  Hanukkah, the Festival of Latkes, was never a big deal – no matter how stores tried to market it. 

Fortunately, my close-knit family, sugar cookies, and tinsel helped keep the shine on the winter solstice, and for years Christmas was still my favorite holiday.  Then I reached teenagerdom, the time when gift cards to Barnes and Noble were preferable to hit-or-miss boxes, and the simple joy of tearing off wrapping paper became the second casualty of Christmas.

After my grandmother passed away, it stopped feeling like “almost Christmas.”  She was the matriarch, the frosting on our gingerbread house, and once she was gone, things rapidly started to unravel.  December slid by, and before I knew it, it was Christmas Eve and it still didn’t feel real.  I started having reoccurring dreams that we forgot to buy our Christmas tree, forgot to celebrate at all, and woke up in a cold sweat like I’d been dreaming about giant man-eating pigeons rather than the absence of a Douglas fir.

I won’t claim to have had a Scrooge-like epiphany, but I did happen to notice an improvement in my cheer when I stopped focusing on things I wanted, and took joy in the giving of gifts, taking comfort from making someone else smile.  There’s always been a part of me that loves the creative outlet of gift-giving, of impressing someone with the time and attention paid.  It’s not really as selfless as it sounds because, really, though I love to make people happy, I want to be credited for my thoughtfulness.  I do, I admit it.  Though times are tough, and my resources are hardly limitless, I’ll my best to make this Christmas happy for the people in my life who have done so much for me (and if they want to return the favor, I’m hardly going to object.)

I’ve already gotten a head start on the holiday season – there’s always the one thing that never fails to get a few ho-ho-hos out of me.  I’ve got my seasonal playlist, cookies are a-baking, bells are a-jingling, and Christmas time is here, hooray.

 

Quote of the Day:

Lacy things/the wife is missin’/Didn’t ask/her permission/Wearin’ her clothes/silk pantyhose/Walkin’ round in women’s underwear

-“Walkin’ Round in Women’s Underwear” to the tune of “Winter Wonderland,” Bob Rivers’ Twisted Christmas

Link of the Day: The TARDIS made of gingerbread.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

