Skip to content

Inactive, Sluggish, or Dull

November 24, 2008

Stagnant:

1. not flowing or running, as water, air, etc.
2. stale or foul from standing, as a pool of water.
3. characterized by lack of development, advancement, or progressive movement: a stagnant economy.
4. inactive, sluggish, or dull.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I defined this blog when I started out five months ago. 

The chronicle of an early twenty-something’s attempts to find an agent for her fantasy-satire young adult novel, get a job writing for the black hole of television, and generally navigate the stagnant ocean of her life.

Has that paragraph become misleading?  I’m still twenty-something.  I have written a YA novel, though The Practical Orphan’s Guide to Surviving a Fairytale is waiting patiently for me to have that ‘aha!’ moment and suddenly understand exactly what it needs to become a best seller.  I don’t want to send it out again when I know it’s not quite right, even if I don’t know why.  Why waste the postage?

I am looking for a job in television – admittedly, not as hard as I could, because while I tend to think of my life as dull, definition number three of stagnant applies equally as well.  I’ve stopped advancing.  I’m not developing, and it was a voluntary decision.  I put my life on hold waiting to be rejected by the ABC Fellowship.  Though I know, intellectually, that there’s no reason I shouldn’t be pushing forward on other avenues, on the rare, infintesimal chance that I actually do get accepted, I don’t want anything to stand in my way.

I do that sort of thing a lot.  It’s just so much easier to sit back and think, ‘Well, after I hear back, then I’ll start over again,’ especially when I won’t hear until January.  It’s all too easy to feel discouraged, and frustrated, and tired, to want to take a break from the constant rejection and disappointment, but that one week turns into a month, which turns into two, and soon it’s five months later and I haven’t done anything.

NaNoWriMo is not for me – I’m actually less productive when I concentrate on just one thing.  Now that I’m freed from those shackles, I can finally pound out the new pilot script that I’m pitching as, ‘If Adrian Monk and Shawn Spencer were members of the Justice League.’  I want to have fun with my writing again.

And I’m going to start blogging about a new avenue that I’m just starting to explore: freelancing.  A wild and crazy world that is entirely unfamiliar to me, but I’ll share my experiences and see if I can’t help a few people learn from my mistakes.  Hopefully it will be a good way to make some extra cash and/or gain experience that will puff up my portfolio.

And coming up, just as soon as I put it together, my professor Stu Krieger was kind enough to answer a few questions for this blog on life in the biz!

 

Quote of the Day:
“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.” – Douglas Adams, author The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Link of the Day: Helium.com – a freelance marketplace where you can write articles for specific topics directly on the website, competing with others for selection.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

