Skip to content

Twenty-three Years and Counting

November 21, 2008

So yesterday was my birthday, and I spent it in bed – recovering from a stomach virus.  I still feel weak and…I’m trying to think of a better word than ‘icky’.  I have tickets to see Spring Awakening tonight, so I’m trying to conserve my energy, but even just taking a shower was hard.  Even typing a sentence is hard, as it requires my brain and my fingers to work at the same time.  This would appear to be the end of my NaNoWriMo attempt.  It wasn’t the common cold that brought me down this time, just the curse of November.  The project isn’t dead, though, it shall live again.

You know what won’t live again?  Pushing Daisies.  Not on television at any rate.  Apparently while I was sleeping to the sounds of CSI: NY, ABC put the kibosh on the Piehole.  And right before a national holiday that requires pie!  I’m so tired, I can’t even summon the proper outrage and sadness.

Right now, NBC and CBS are the cool stations.  Sure, they have more than their fair share of procedurals, but they also have 30 Rock and How I Met Your Mother.  

By the by, Pilot spent his first afternoon at doggy daycare after he was judged worthy.  The humans loved him from the start – and why not?  He’s adorable.  He was pretty anxious, possibly because I’d already taken him to the vet that morning for a clean bill of health, and the room at the day care where the employees ‘evaluate’ looks very much like the vet’s office.  I left him exploring the place and came back a few hours later to hear that he’d spent much of his time in the corner.  Still, they said he did well for his first time, I’m sure it was very overwhelming.  He seemed to be taken by the French bulldogs.  He’ll be going back for Thanksgiving, and hopefully enjoy it a bit more, though when I arrived to pick him up, he was just chilling by the fence, so he clearly wasn’t traumatized.

Okay, that does it, I’m all out of words and…stuff.

 

Quote of the Day:

“And meeting someone new – all the talking, and the nodding, and the sibling listing.  And what’s the upside?  It works and you have to have a bunch of sex?”

“What do you want, do you want to be alone for the rest of your life?”

“No, I just want to start a relationship twelve years in, where you don’t have to try anymore and you can just sit around together and goof on TV shows, and then go to bed without anybody trying any funny business.”

-Liz Lemon and Jack Donaghy, 30 Rock “Gavin Volure”

Link of the Day: Confessions of a Writer – The Ugly Truth (and boy is it ugly.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

