Skip to content

Adventures in Doggy Daycare

November 17, 2008

Every Thanksgiving, my parents and I go to my great-aunt’s house in Orange County.  We’re gone most of the day, which was never a problem with our first dog, Sofi, since she never had an accident in the house unless she was really sick.  Roxie was still pretty young for her first Turkey Day, so we attempted to bring her with us, keeping her out on the little balcony so as not to terrify my great-aunt’s rarely seen cat.  Rox was not a happy little doggy.  Since then, however, with free run of the house and a cast-iron bladder, Roxie manages just fine without us.

And then there’s Pilot.  Who on the best of days manages to leak all over the place.  There’s no way he can spend the entire day locked up in the crate, it wouldn’t be fair.

So I started looking into doggy daycare.

I don’t do diamond collars or Evian water.  I scoff at the idea of ‘doggy spas,’ aromatherapy, and Pup-lates.  In my house, there are distinct boundaries between man and beast.  My dogs are spoiled, but they’re not pampered.  However, I love them dearly, and since I’ve been worrying about Pilot not getting enough socialization, I figured the benefits of daycare out weigh the fear of being labeled ‘one of those pet parents.’

I don’t know how they do things up in Canada, but in Los Angeles, picking a doggy daycare is like picking a prep school for your kindergartner.  You can’t just walk in and drop them off.  They have to be evaluated.  I’m wondering if they’ll take him after he pees on their shoes from excitement.  And then there’s the minor problem of finding one that’s not only open on Thanksgiving, but open past 7, the usual time these places close up shop. 

Turns out there’s only one candidate.  Fortunately, the place seems pretty impressive, and is well-reviewed.  I’m going to take Pilot in for his ‘interview,’ hopefully this week after we get the clean bill of health from the vet.  Roxie, who has gotten cantankerous in her old age, will not be going to daycare as she’s too aggressive with other dogs, and not all that interested in playing with them (unless they’re labradors – she’s a sucker for black labs.)  I’m sure she’ll enjoy having the house all to herself for the day – no annoying little brother chewing on her face and hogging the toys.

If we can actually get in (and I can’t believe I’m saying that), I think Pilot will love it, and I think it’ll be very good for him.  He can burn off all that manic puppy energy, make new friends so that he gets past the intimidation factor, and get loved up by all the employees who fall for his goofy ears just like I have.

But I think we can skip the massage.

 

Quote of the Day:

“Dogs feel very strongly that they should always go with you in the car, in case the need should arise for them to bark violently at nothing right in your ear.” – Dave Barry, humorist.

Link of the Day: Benefits of Doggy Daycare

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian permalink
    November 18, 2008 10:30 am

    If that doesn’t work out there is a place up in topanga that could work for you- I can get you more information if you want.

  2. Diana permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:46 am

    How did the ‘interview’ go–what a crack up that you have to be “evaluated” to get a dog sitter…ah, well, the times in which we live :-)

  3. December 8, 2008 3:32 pm

    The best thing you can do to ensure that you leave your pet in the hands of trusted individuals is to do research. Talk to customers and read online reviews. If you can get advice from someone who has used the facilities, chances are you will get a true taste of what their services really offer.

Leave a Reply

