Skip to content

The Fine Art of Procrastination

November 16, 2008

So I celebrated the halfway point of NaNoWriMo by doing absolutely no writing at all.  Not even a blog post, ruining my two week streak and seriously putting a crimp in my numbers.  Oh well.  It was Saturday, and a nice one at that.  Today was fairly unproductive on the writing front as well – evidence of why November is a terrible month for me to try and write 50,000 words.  Heading into my birthday and Thanksgiving I just lose all energy and become the embodiment of sloth.  I’m still going forward, though.  It’s better than therapy.

Last night I went out with my mom, my aunt, and my cousin and we saw a play called Desperate Writers.  It was roundly panned by our group.  I probably saw more humor in it given that it was about screenwriting, but still, the lead actress was horrible and it was all around derivative.  The energy of the second act made me hopeful, but it didn’t last.

And in other news, my state is on fire again.  Even though the actual flames aren’t near me, the smoke is.  Last night I felt like I was smoking someone’s cigar.  My sinuses are burning like mad.  I just hope everyone’s made it to safety and they contain it as soon as they can.  I love California, but nothing scares me like fire, and it’s gotten so much worse in recent years.

Hopefully tomorrow I’ll have an actual subject to pontificate on.  But for now, I think I’m going to watch an old episode of Friends.

 

Quote of the Day:

“Writing is 90 percent procrastination: reading magazines, eating cereal out of the box, watching infomercials. It’s a matter of doing everything you can to avoid writing, until it is about four in the morning and you reach the point where you have to write.” – Paul Rudnick, writer In & Out.

Link of the Day: The 100 Greatest Movie Lines

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2008 7:46 pm

    Oh, I know how you feel about procrastination. It’s so easy to just sit back and do nothing. I’ve been trying to make myself get to a certain point in a day before I allow myself to be lazy. Good luck writing.

  2. Diana permalink
    November 16, 2008 10:37 pm

    Ah, yes, the play was dreadful, but it was wonderful to spend time with my lovely niece!

Leave a Reply

