Skip to content

My Birthday is One Week From Today

November 13, 2008

Well, the good news is that I’ve come up with a great framework for my memoir – looking at my life as a giant failed romantic comedy.  The bad news is that I’m starting to depress myself.  The hardest part now will be trying to see the ‘comedy’ in situations that I tend to over-dramatize.  On the plus side, the quotes I’m using to head up each section are helping to take a bite out of my NaNoWriMo word count.

I really wish there was a way to make this write itself.

At least I’m still interested in the material and haven’t given up.  That’s progress.  Between blogging and NaNo, I haven’t had a lot of time to think about other things.  Once November’s over, I’ll get back to submitting to journals and whatnot.  Which reminds me: submissions for Circumlocution Literary are still open!

Now, I’m off to my improv class, so this is more of a twitter than a post.  I don’t have a lot worth reporting at the moment anyway.

By the way, to all my readers: please don’t be shy!  I love getting comments, and I’ve seen a good increase in blog traffic, so I know you’re out there.  I wish I could reply to the comments directly, but this platform doesn’t seem to give that option.  Also, if commenting isn’t your thing, go ahead and drop me a line at hollywoodjanesmith [at] gmail [dot] com.  No promises on timely responses, but I’ll do my best.

 

Quote of the Day:

“An author is a fool who, not content with boring those he lives with, insists on boring future generations.” – Charles de Montesquieu (1689 – 1755), French lawyer and philosopher.

Link of the Day: Russell T. Davies, writer and showrunner for Doctor Who talks writing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

