Skip to content

Gone Phishing (Yes We Can Edition)

November 4, 2008

For the first time in eight years, I’m really proud to be an American.  I swear, when Barack Obama speaks, I get goosebumps.

My friends and I celebrated by claiming our free Krispy Kreme star-shaped donuts – after we had our free tall Starbucks coffee, and free Ben and Jerry’s ice cream.  Damn it feels good to be a voter.

In lieu of actual content, but because I’d hate to break a streak, I thought I’d give you some interesting links to click on, with an actual post to come tomorrow as I bask in the glow of change.

Pushing Daisies was named one of the best shows to watch in HD.  Um…duh?  Still, glad it wasn’t over looked.  My beloved is on the bubble, and needs those ratings.  If we can elect Barack Obama president, we can keep Pushing Daisies on the air.

It’s never too late for a Sarah Palin spoof – how did it take them so long to think of this parody?  Sarah, John, the Terminator

It’s been reported in several places now, but I read it here first.  Two producers of Heroes have been ousted.  You know, things just keep getting worse for this show.  How did they screw up something so good so badly?

And from the department of People With Too Much Time on Their Hands – Knitted Graffiti.  The pictures are pretty amazing; I have to wonder how they manage some of those trees.  And major points for the name, ‘Knitta Please.’

I managed to write nearly 2000 words today, bringing my total to 11,323.  Since I ‘cheated’ and started with something already begun, these 2000 words really felt good, the first real push I’ve had since this week started.

Finally, I just have to say thank you to John McCain for his incredibly gracious concession speech.  Maybe if he’d handled his campaign the same way, he’d be president-elect now.  I think it’s a terrible shame that the campaign trail brought out the worst in McCain rather than the best, and I hope that he and Barack Obama are able to work together in the future.

And that Sarah Palin stays the fuck in Alaska.

 

Quote of the Day:

“If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.

It’s the answer told by lines that stretched around schools and churches in numbers this nation has never seen, by people who waited three hours and four hours, many for the first time in their lives, because they believed that this time must be different, that their voices could be that difference.

It’s the answer spoken by young and old, rich and poor, Democrat and Republican, black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Native American, gay, straight, disabled and not disabled. Americans who sent a message to the world that we have never been just a collection of individuals or a collection of red states and blue states.

We are, and always will be, the United States of America.”

-Senator Barack Obama, president-elect of the United States of America

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

