Skip to content

Buyer’s Remorse

August 7, 2008

So Day One of the BlackBerry Named Chuck, and I already don’t like it.  What was I thinking?  I know what I was thinking, I was thinking that I really, really wanted a PDA to keep track of all the things I need to do, and that switching to AT&T would be too complicated.

What I neglected to take into consideration is that I’m a Mac person now – I hate PCs.  And what did I go out and buy?  A PC for my pocket.  It’s too complicated to use, it doesn’t sync with my computer beyond my address book and possibly my calendar, the internet is slow, and I can’t use any of its media features.

Yes, I do like the keyboard, and it does what I want in terms of note-taking capabilities and a to-do list, but I want to customize it with ringtones and wallpapers, and applications.  I don’t think this is going to work.

I did ask if it’s compatible with Mac, and the Verizon people told me it was – which it is.  But only in the sense of putting data on the phone.  I don’t think I can even transfer a note I’ve written on the BlackBerry to the Mac.  That’s a problem.

Someday, my impulse-buy nature is going to get me in trouble.

 

Quote of the Day:

“If I like it, I’ll buy it; pure impulse shopping.”

-Kristin Kreuk, actress Smallville

Link of the Day: Smooth Harold – A Geek’s Guide to Avoiding Buyer’s Remorse

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie permalink
    August 7, 2008 2:20 pm

    OOOPS.

  2. Brian permalink
    August 7, 2008 8:20 pm

    Check this out, I think it should allow you to sync enough things to be useful (and it looks to be free.) http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/desktop/mac.jsp

Leave a Reply

