Skip to content

Brief Update From the Edge

July 31, 2008

So three days ago I discovered that the deadline information for the ABC*Disney Fellowship was finally posted.  I also discovered that said deadline was only eleven days off.  

I didn’t have a spec script written.  Could I write a full-length script in less than two weeks and finish the rest of the application materials?

Well, darn it, I was going to try.

The toughest part was deciding what show to write for.  I watch a lot of TV, but all the ones I’m familiar with are either procedurals (meaning I’d have to come up with a mystery and the clues to solve it), heavily serialized (a la Lost and Heroes), or brand-new, which is apparently not recommended.  I could have done Stargate Atlantis, having a pretty firm grasp of the characters voices, but I had no plot, and no time to think of one.  Whereas I already had a ghost story sitting on the shelf…

So I’m down to eight days, and I have a rough draft of a Supernatural script.  It’s too short, but I think I can fix that.  We’ll see what the future holds…  *fingers crossed*

In case anyone was actually worried, though we sweated it out for several days, the air conditioning has staged a comeback.  Pilot is doing well, and really getting the hang of going for walks.

Oh, and apparently the deadline for the Warner Brothers Workshop passed five days ago.  Where was I?

 

Quote of the Day: 

ComicMix: If you had one piece of advice for writers looking to get into the business, what would it be? 

Jane Espenson: There are a couple ways in — you can apply to programs like those offered by ABC/Disney or Warner Brothers, or you can work your way up from an assistant position, or you can do both at the same time.

But no matter what the approach, you’re only going to make it if you’ve got great sample scripts.  Polish them relentlessly — don’t let even one line get through because it’s “good enough.”

Link of the Day: Bejewled – my latest obsession in lieu of Solitare and Scrabulous.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Derek permalink
    July 31, 2008 10:58 pm

    In my own experience, I have found that the increasing pressure of an approaching deadline often serves to focus our attention more fully on the task at hand. Sometimes, the pressure even speeds up the thinking process. Some of my best ideas for lesson plans come to me in the minutes before I teach a class, while I’m setting things up and trying to fine tune everything. As long as you have the determination to succeed and a passion for your work, I’m sure you’ll complete your project on time and it will be brilliant. Also, I think Supernatural is an interesting choice and I applaud you on your taste in television shows.

  2. August 1, 2008 12:12 am

    You can do it. I know you can! Also, I have a gift for you via Rod from ComicCon.

Leave a Reply

