Skip to content

The Puppy Saga

July 20, 2008

So, we got a puppy on Wednesday.  His name is Pilot, he’s nine weeks old, and he’s adorable, but he’s also a handful.  Exhausting.  I don’t think I’ve been this tired since working at my old summer camp surrounded by two dozen elementary school kids.

We started obedience training on Saturday.  Since Pilot is “my” dog, I’m doing most of the work.  Obviously, since I’m living at home and can’t support a dog, he’s a family pet and everyone shares responsibility, but the belief is that when I move out, I’ll take him with me.

At only nine weeks, he was clearly the youngest of the group.  The class ranged from a beautiful Burmese Mountain dog, to a tiny and exuberant little Yorkie mix.  There was a young, small greyhound who looked kind of like a stick insect.  They’re such nervous little dogs, but he was sweet.  A couple rescues, and a beautiful Brittany spaniel, one of my favorite breeds.

It’s always fun to watch owners interact with their dogs, to see which people take more of a command, and who lets their dog get away with murder.  Undoubtedly over the coming weeks I’ll get plenty of story material from this class.

Most of the class had been coming for awhile, and the other dogs were older so their attention spans were a little better than Pilot’s.  He did very well, though about 3/4ths of the way through the class, he gave up and decided he was done.  I’ve kept working on “Sit” with him, and I think he’s picking it up.  He’s clearly very smart.  The only thing he hasn’t really gotten is the art of walking on a leash.  I tried to take him for a walk on Friday, and he just planted his butt, looking around as if to say, “Are you kidding me?”  I have to pretty much drag him along, though there was some actual movement today.

Our other dog, Roxie, has just been an angel about all of this.  We weren’t sure how she would react, but she’s been pretty mellow, not even objecting when he steals all her toys and hoards them under the dining room table.  I think she’s still sort of bewildered by him, since he has such manic bursts of energy and isn’t large enough to be considered a real dog yet.  He will be, though, Pilot’s got mighty paws.

Of course, every time he’s out of the crate, I have to chase him all over the house, since taking eyes off him for a second could result in an accident.  That, more than anything, I think, has worn me out to the point where even when I’ve had time to myself, I can’t seem to get anything done.  Mostly I just want to lie around and watch television.  This week, though, I think I’ll try putting him in his crate for a few hours while I go to Coffee Bean and get some work done.

Revisions are coming along well for The Practical Orphan’s Guide to Surviving a Fairytale.  Hopefully that’ll be done soon.  I need to get back to work on the television front.  Unfortunately, just when I regained my equilibrium post-graduation, post-Boston, along comes this puppy and I’m knocked off balance again.

Lucky he’s so cute.

 

Quote of the Day: 

“There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face.”  -Ben Williams

Link of the Day: Urban Tails – our wonderful local pet store where the people are friendly, knowledgeable, and always eager to help.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

