Skip to content

Two Jobs and a Dog

July 5, 2008

I haven’t seen any of my friends in what seems like ages.  I’ll have to remedy that, though it looks like my time will be occupied in the immediate future.

I got a job as a part-time assistant to my former professor, Reza Aslan.  I got to call one of the head honchos of Scientology and accept a collection of L. Ron Hubbard’s books for the UCR Eaton Science Fiction Collection.  Despite bungling my name with the secretary courtesy of the new ‘hands-free cell phone in the car’ law, the message was received.

In addition, I’m starting work at my dad’s office this week.  Isn’t nepotism wonderful?  I’ll basically be doing whatever odd jobs he can find for me, scanning being the primary task of choice.  Thank goodness for audiobooks on my iPod is all I can say.  They were a huge help when I was filing last summer.

Given this new foray into the real world, one of the things I very much want to do is upgrade my phone.  Primarily I want to be able to keep notes and to-do lists that are easy to type, and easy to read.  Right now I’m tempted by the iPhone, as I’ve also been wanting a new iPod, and having it all in one convenient package is just too irresistible for a techo-junkie like me.  I have an eye for shiny new toys, but this one’s a bit out of my price range – plus I’d have to switch to AT&T.  

Speaking of temptations: my mother walked into my bedroom two days ago, sat on my bed, and asked if I’d like a puppy.  I should make a point of saying that while I’m fairly spoiled (being the only child of middle-class parents), there have always been boundaries, and I’ve never owned a pony, or a diamond tiara, despite having asked for them.  My parents don’t usually walk into my room offering animals.

But a puppy is something I’ve wanted for a very long time.  I became very attached, too attached, to a puppy that was being mistreated in the apartment below mine two years ago.  I ended up calling Animal Control on the owners, and the puppy, nicknamed Radar for her habit of barking at helicopters, disappeared.  I haven’t quite forgiven myself.

Since leaving home and my lovely shepherd-mix Roxie (now a crotchety eight years old with the looks and temper of a child), my heart breaks at the sight of every dog.  Living somewhere without one feels empty, and more than anything I crave that unconditional love.  

And though I’m back with Roxie on a daily basis, I’ve never quite given up on the dream of a new puppy.  My mother and I came close, a few months back.  But I wasn’t living at home then, and ultimately Mom decided the timing wasn’t right.  After that close call, I vowed not to get my hopes up.  There was no way I could have a puppy on my own – I had no way to support it, and no where to keep it.  I pushed down all those hopes and desires as far as they would go, and tried not to go too near pet stores in case the dam broke, and I ended up running off with a Labradoodle under my jacket.

Now Mom has decided the time is right, and I’ve released the floodgates.  I’ve reverted to toddler status, and I want a puppy now, damn it.  It’s all contingent on Roxie, of course, and I’m a little worried that I’m going to have my heart broken again.

Well, someday, one way or another, when I’m on my own and have plenty of money (ha!) I’ll have a whole pack of dogs.  No crazy cat lady for me – I’m a canine kind of girl all the way.

 

Quote of the Day: 

“Happiness is a warm puppy.” – Charles M. Schulz, cartoonist

Link of the Day: Westside German Shepherd Rescue (CA)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

