Skip to content

Apparently I Have a Future in This Business

June 9, 2008

Saw my professor today about my pilot television script.  He hardly had any notes for me, told me I was in good shape, and that I had an A in the class.  What was most flattering was that he said when he was asked about his current crop of students and their ideas, he told people about mine.  He said they responded well to the premise.

To add to what I have, he told me to write another beat sheet for an episode – bringing the total to three – and write loglines for the rest of the episodes in the season.  Since that was the assignment for the grad students, I take that as a good sign.  Then he told me to start the agent process.  He added that I should keep writing, and fill my portfolio with new pilot scripts, as well as at least one spec of an existing show.  I’m thinking Supernatural

I really feel like my last quarter of school was my most successful, which is both positive and negative.  Positive, of course, because I did really well, and seemed to be esteemed by my professors, and negative only because I feel like I finally got the hang of this college thing after such a struggle, it’s too bad it has to end.

There’s a mental and physical exhaustion that comes with graduating.  Add the Riverside heat to that, and basically my body gave out with an oomph.  As much as I’d love to be eloquent, humorous, and insightful, my brain just doesn’t have enough juice at the moment.  Hopefully my recovery time will be short.  I’ll need my brain back when I go to Boston for the Solstice Summer Writers’ Conference in two weeks.

I’m back in West Hollywood now, for good (minus the ceremony on Sunday), with my Chocolate Chex, my laptop, and my first reswing of adapting that book.  

 

Quote of the Day:

“Few things are impossible to diligence and skill. Great works are performed not by strength, but perseverance.” – Samuel Johnson, English writer
Link of the Day: The Disney*ABC Writing Fellowship 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

